05 December, 2018

Zack Clarke - Mesophase (2017)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 53:01 | Size: 125.37 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1 Curtain (6:24)
2 Generative (8:14)
3 Infiltration (2:00)
4 Beggar (4:41)
5 Tilted (4:48)
6 Reticence (5:35)
7 Frontier (4:14)
8 Assimilate (5:48)
9 Bridge (5:40)
10 Bravery (5:37)

Mesophase is a term used in physics describing a state of matter that is neither liquid nor solid, sharing properties of both while defining a state unique unto itself. By extension, the concept can also apply to a reconciliation of emotional polarities or conflicting ideas.
Zack Clarke leverages the idea of a mesophase as a vehicle for musical expression through the synthesis of disparate musical forces. His album “Mesophase” unites the natural and the human-made, bringing together acoustic and electronic elements in profound and unusual ways. The result is a music that is not defined by genre, taking essential elements from improvisation, electronic music and through-composed writing. With this combination of approaches, the pianist nd composer from New York creates harmonic and melodic forms that translate through multiple mediums. Clarke refers to the process of creating the album as “feeling less like construction and more like a discovery and translation of something that is already there.” After the initial success and critical acclaim of his first Clean Feed release, “Random Acts of Order,” Clarke takes a bold and significant step forward with this record, as he expands his previous approach to electro-acoustic music through the incorporation of a score for an ensemble of musicians. Performed by some of New York City’s finest up-and-coming improvisors, the outcome is a vibrant palette of unique instrumentation and modern synthetic sound that delivers a powerful and thought-provoking listening experience.

Zack Clarke - Piano, Electronics; Chris Irvine - Cello; Charlotte Greve - Flute, Clarinet, Saxophone; Nick Dunston - Bass; Leonid Galaganov - Percussion, Waterphone, Shakuhachi

Recorded April 25th 2017 by Jim Clouse at Park West Studios, Brooklyn, NY | Mixed and mastered by Dave Darlington, Bass Hit Studios, New York, NY

No comments:

Post a Comment