04 December, 2018

Bill O'Connell - Signature (1993)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 48:26 | Size: 110.46 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. Main Street OConnell 4:53
2. Tell Me Again OConnell 4:38
3. Dina Fambrough 3:59
4. St. Croix OConnell 5:34
5. Alfalfa Sez OConnell 4:02
6. Angels at Play Fambrough 5:33
7. Jazz Eyes Alston 3:40
8. Hit or Miss OConnell 4:41
9. Cyclone OConnell 4:54
10. Sammy's Song OConnell 5:52
Label – Rhino

Bill O'Connell - Keyboards, Piano
Howard Alston - Sax (Soprano)
Grover Washington, Jr. - Sax (Soprano)
Charles Fambrough - Bass
Rick Sebastian - Drums
Pablo Batista - Bongos, Conga, Percussion
Pianist Bill O'Connell is not exactly a household name but his CD is quite memorable. The quality of the originals (seven by O'Connell, three from bassist Charles Fambrough and one from soprano saxophonist Howard Alston) is strong, the melodies are often catchy, Grover Washington, Jr., has two good outings on soprano and O'Connell's work on piano and electric keyboards does a very effective job of combining together aspects of both so-called contemporary jazz and hard bop. This is accessible jazz that is also creative.
~ Scott Yanow

No comments:

Post a Comment