25 November, 2018

Hugo Siegmeth & Axel Wolf - Now: Jazz & Renaissance Improvisations (2018)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:34:10 | Size: 215.23 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. A Quiver of Superb Arrows
2. 4 x 3, Prestissimo
3. Quarten, die nicht warten
4. Like Soft Dark Birds
5. Improvviso Elisabeth
6. Totally Watching TV
7. Schreddermaschine
8. For One Another
9. Stehender Klang an einer Klippe
10. Ammersee nach Traxler
11. Ich bin dîn
12. Ein Lächeln irrt verflogen
13. Von Fall zu Fall
14. Ariadnes Blues-Faden

After the big success of the album FLOW we have here new recordings that are completely different from the previous ones in one respect. Here, the duo of Axel Wolf and Hugo Siegmeth plays exclusively their own pieces. They do not resort to classical material from jazz or ‘standards’ of Early Music, but only to ones that are unfamiliar. For they are pieces that emerged spontaneously: nothing but duo improvisations, most of which were recorded on one and the same day in a Bavarian Radio studio in Munich. The lutenist Axel Wolf and the saxophonist Hugo Siegmeth who join forces here are two musicians with roots in completely different musical disciplines. A virtuoso on the lute and theorbo, Axel Wolf specializes in the Renaissance and Baroque periods, whereas Hugo Siegmeth, saxophonist and composer, is an expert on modern jazz and contemporary music. Although several centuries lie between the heydays of both musical styles, these two musicians both place special focus on improvisation: involvement in the surprising moment and spontaneous interaction.

No comments:

Post a Comment