30 September, 2018

Nate Smith - Pocket Change (2018)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 32:32 | Size: 75.10 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Get Down, Get Down
02. What It Do
03. DumDum
04. Day and Dusk
05. 'Spress Theyself
06. Ghost Thud (for Mr. Allen)
07. Warble
08. Big/Little Five
09. Paved
10. Warble: Reprise
11. So Be It

Label: Ropeadope
The incomparable Nate Smith has helped invigorate the Jazz scene over the last two decades with his visceral and deep-rooted style of drumming. From work with Jose James, Dave Holland, and Chris Potter, to his Grammy nominated debut album, KINFOLK: Postcards from Everywhere, Nate is on the scene. It seems that every day another musician or fan posts a video of Nate behind the kit, in awe of the style and and polish of his work. Now, Nate has prepared a solo drumset album dubbed Pocket Change - 11 improvised drum tracks of groove and feel, and of course technique.

Pocket Change will be released in three formats - Collector's Vinyl, A Creators software package from Loop Loft/Native Instruments, and in digital download/streaming worldwide. Start right here for the single and find your spot.

'The idea of the album is to use (seemingly) simple grooves as a launching pad … My goal was to develop improvised thematic ideas within groove context to create a storytelling arc.' (Nate Smith)

No comments:

Post a Comment