31 July, 2018

Ryan Oliver - Convergence (2005)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:01:40 | Size: 139.71 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Tune for Bernie
02. Solidarity
03. It's Easy to Remember
04. The End of a Love Affair
05. Mamacita
06. Never Forget
07. Shorter Mornings
08. Rhythm
09. Pisces
Born in Williams Lake, British Columbia, Oliver has been lighting up the bandstands of Canada's West Coast, Switzerland (Montreux Jazz Festival), Amsterdam (where he spent a year studying at the request of Misha Mengelberg) and Toronto since he was a teenager. Oliver is now a familiar face in many Toronto Jazz ensembles. As a single listening to Convergence makes clear, Oliver has synthesized his many influences into a coherent Jazz sound that is both reverential to his musical mentors and altogether sui generis.The respective talents of Oliver and his well-chosen side musicians have similarly converged on this mixed program of standards and Oliver originals for a result that captures the immediately identifiable sound that is good Jazz music. ©

Label - Art of Life Records

Ryan Oliver - Tenor Saxophone
Jake Wilkinson - Trumpet
Duncan Hopkins - Acoustic Bass
Bernie Senensky - Piano
Bob McLaren - Drums

No comments:

Post a Comment