23 July, 2018

Monica Ramey - Make Someone Happy (2009)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 46:22 | Size: 105.41 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Hey John 03:33
02. Dream Dancing (featuring Beegie Adair) 04:38
03. Passion Flower 04:03
04. You Hit the Spot 02:53
05. I Didn't Know What Time It Was 04:44
06. Tenderly 04:30
07. Even in Paris 02:50
08. Give Him the Ooh-La-La 03:00
09. When the Sun Comes Out 03:41
10. Goodbye Is All That's Left to Say 04:22
11. You're the Top 03:48
12. Make Someone Happy (featuring Beegie Adair) 04:24
“I first heard Monica Ramey sing several years ago in a vocal class at The Nashville Jazz Workshop. I pulled her aside to encourage her to take her talent seriously. I soon realized that Monica didn’t really need to hear that from me. She was already well focused on building the skills she’d need as a student of standards and jazz music. Monica has become quite a serious singer and fine interpreter of the Great American Songbook. I’m sure you’ll agree upon hearing her debut release, Make Someone Happy.” -Jim Ferguson, Bassist/Vocalist

"Midwest native Monica Ramey's intellect, sophistication, honesty are on full display on her debut CD, "Make Someone Happy." Ramey's voice floats on top of the music provided by some of Nashville's best including the Lori Mechem Trio, Denis Solee, Roy Agee, George Tidwell, James Hollihan and special guest Beegie Adair.

"Make Someone Happy" is sexy, smart, fresh and full of swing. Listening to this CD makes me happy, one listen and you'll be happy too." -Maxx Myrick, Myrick Media

"The American Songbook is truly the gift that keeps on giving, constantly reinventing itself with each new generation. It does my heart - and my ears! - so much good to hear Monica Ramey pick up the torch and run with it. Her theatrical roots combine with her obvious deep affection for the classic popular song to give us a freshly unique take on the material she's chosen for her debut. It's sassy, swinging and totally enjoyable. Looking forward to Volume II!"-Jeff Steinberg, Musician/Arranger/Composer

"Make Someone Happy" is like a meal that someone cooked for you with lots of love. You can taste the love."-Heather Brand, Photographer

"Let me say about Monica Ramey...
I have watched and listened to this woman grow by leaps and bounds over the last 4 years. She is now the consummate professional... talented, creative, energetic & commited. Anyone fortunate enough to hear this lovingly crafted album, her first solo effort, is in for a treat. You will be, as I was, totally enamoured by her charms. It is a pleasure and an honor to be a part of it. Way to go, Monica!" -Denis Solee, Musician/Arranger/Educator

This refreshing, highly-anticipated album features Monica Ramey's "Dream Team" including Lori Mechem, Roger Spencer, Chris Brown, Denis Solee, George Tidwell, Roy Agee, James Hollihan and special guest, Beegie Adair.

No comments:

Post a Comment