Ernest Dawkins New Horizons Ensemble - South Side Street Songs (1993)

Genre: Jazz / Modern Free Jazz | Total Time: 1:05:44 | Size: 152.84 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Whence to Whither
02. Maghostut
03. Goldinger
04. Half-Step for Granny
05. Ashes and Dust
06. El Hajj
07. Just Is Me
08. Maghostut Two

Ernest Dawkins - alto sax, tenor sax, flute
Steve Berry - trombone
Ameen Muhammad - trumpet
Jeffery Parker - electric guitar
Yosef Ben Israel - bass
Avreeayl Ra - drums

This is an exciting band. Ernest Dawkins (heard on alto, tenor, and flute) heads the New Horizons Ensemble, a high-energy avant-garde sextet also including trombonist Steve Berry, trumpeter Ameen A.C. Muhammad, guitarist Jeff Parker, bassist Yosef Ben Israel, and drummer Avreeayl Ra. The driving rhythm section and rather individual horn stylists perform eight diverse pieces by Dawkins (who also contributed the arrangements) which cover a variety of moods, are not shy to swing, and temporarily embrace melodies. Each selection is stirring and full of surprises and fire. Recommended.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar