27 June, 2018

Sammy Price - Sammy Price On Tour (2013)

Genre: Jazz / Blues | Total Time: 52:08 | Size: 116.94 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. Sammy Price Boogie Woogie #1
2. Just A Gigolo
3. One Sweet Letter From You
4. New Orleans #1
5. Poor Butterfly
6. Isabelle
7. Sammy Price Boogie Woogie #2
8. New Orleans #2
9. Shakin' That Thing
10. Lover Come Back To Me
11. It's Only A Paper Moon
12. C Jam Blues

GHB's 2013 disc Sammy Price on Tour relies largely on a set boogie-woogie pianist Price recorded in Sydney, Australia on April 25, 1982 with guitarist Lars Edegran, clarinetist Orange Kellin, and trumpeter Geoff Bull, with the final three songs deriving from a 1969 London concert with clarinetist John Defferary, saxophonist Sammy Rimington, drummer Dave Evans, and an unknown bassist. If the London cuts are a little more raucous, they also veer toward straight New Orleans jazz, whereas the 1982 cuts often find Price indulging in gregarious, cheerful New Orleans blues, jazz, and boogie-woogie. Bull was the bandleader on this 1982 tour, so, unsurprisingly, there is plenty of space for the trumpeter to prowl, but it's little wonder this is released under Price's name: it showcases his big-hearted boogie-woogie roll to great effect.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine

No comments:

Post a Comment