Paul Lay - Mikado (2014)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 58:42 | Size: 135.91 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Ouverture
02. Ka
03. Let Me Tell You My Secret
04. Workaholic
05. Voices
06. Dolphins
07. Little Changes
08. Häiku
09. Awake
10. Beyond
11. Luiza
12. Youth
13. Chao Phraya
14. Epilogue

Paul Lay – piano
Antonin Tri-Hoang – alto saxophone, clarinet
Clemens Van Der Feen – double bass
Dré Pallemaerts – drums

Produced by Laborie Jazz. Recorded by Boris Darley at Studio Laborie.
Mixed by Boris Darley at Studio Sextan. Mastered by Pierre Vandewaeter at Studio Lakanal.

Acclaimed by the French Jazz Academy in 2016, Paul Lay received the «Django Reinhardt» Prize for the Best French Jazz Musician of the Year. He was also elected Best Young French Jazz Talent of the Year by a poll of critics produced by Jazz magazine. With “Mikado” opus in 2014, the Paul Lay Quartet won the prestigious Charles Cros Academy prize for “the Best International Jazz Album Of The Year”.
The pianist proves that he has now reached a kind of maturity that allows him into the ‘league’ of french jazzmen who count.’ The risks taken in ‘Workaholic’ provide a real pleasure, the constant rupture games and elaborate structure always renew the discourse, the use of registers is quite extraordinary. ‘Voices’ then plunges us into an atmosphere of exquisite poetry.
Equally at home in solo performance as in a big band, Paul Lay leads a french-benelux quartet performing subtle compositions by a brilliant pianist, now in full bloom! With his new album, ‘Mikado’, Paul Lay confirms his leading position as a pianist and composer who will count in the young generation of European jazz.

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar