29 June, 2018

Lorraine Lawson - Quiet Nights: Timeless Ballads (2018)

Genre: Jazz / Jazz Vocals | Total Time: 49:53 | Size: 114.94 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. When I Fall In Love
02. It Had To Be You
03. Waiting In Vain
04. My Romance
05. Corcovado
06. Autumn Leaves
07. This Masquerade
08. My Funny Valentine
09. Beautiful Love
10. Still Crazy After All These Years

Lorraine Lawson's debut album was recorded in 2000. Her hit single, "If I Could," received video play and major-market CHR and AC airplay from coast to coast. And Canada took notice. The National Post ran a front-page entertainment story hailing Lawson as one of Canada's hottest emerging stars: "Lorraine is making her big break into the pop mainstream." In addition to print media, Lorraine appeared on national television programs noteably Canada AM, TSN's Off the Record, CTV's, Open Mike with Mike Bullard and as a vocal coach for Popstars "The One".

In 2001, Lorraine was approached by Somerset Entertainment to record a CD of jazz and pop standards for the Avalon label entitled Quiet Nights. "I studied Jazz Performance in college and was thrilled with the opportunity to sing some of my favourite songs." The resulting intimate and sultry CD is still in print in over 20 countries. The promotional tour took Lorraine as far as Tokyo.

Inspired by her time in Japan, Lorraine stepped away from the recording industry to expand her performing career and take stock of her personal life: “Meeting people from other countries and experiencing other cultures, has always provided me with a sense of perspective, insight and growth. Combining my love for travel with my love for music has been a gift." Lorraine has performed in Asia, Europe and the Caribbean. Highlights have included representing Canada in a cultural festival held in Beijing, New Years Eve at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong and entertaining the Canadian Armed Forces in Labrador and the far north.

Lorraine's songs have been featured on several television shows, including Cardcaptors, Queer as Folk and Popstars. She has performed her original material at SAC's Blue Bird North and other high-profile songwriting showcases.

Label: Avalon Records

No comments:

Post a Comment