28 June, 2018

Leslie Pintchik - So Glad To Be Here (2004)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 59:18 | Size: 134.83 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. All The Things You Are
02. You Keep Coming Back Like A Song
03. Scamba
04. Hopperesque
05. Let's Get Lucky
06. Happy Dog
07. Mortal
08. Terse Tune
09. Luscious
10. Something Lost
11. We See

Leslie Pintchik (piano), Scott Hardy (bass), Satoshi Takeishi (percussion).

Pianist and composer Leslie Pintchik has played clubs in New York for several years, and it shows in the natural approach that predominates on this her first release. She gives plenty of space to skillful bassist Scott Hardy, who's also her husband, and to drummer Satoshi Takeishi, whose style is imaginative yet unobtrusive. The three players demonstrate their easy rapport on the opening standard "All the Things You Are," taken in a comfortable samba-like groove. Supporting Pintchik's supple line is the active melodic interplay of Hardy and Takeishi, the latter remarkable for his light and high percussion palette that includes colorful oriental cymbals. On Berlin's "You Keep Coming Back Like a Song," Pintchik plays a plain but emotive line with a gorgeous sound. Hardy contributes one composition, "Scamba," a samba tune with some triplets for rhythmic variety. After Pintchik introduces and improvises on the tune, Hardy's solo explores and reveals the core of the piece.

Pintchik's compositions predominate, and her more balladic are particularly notable. Outstanding is "Hopperesque," which evokes and interprets the work of American painter Edward Hopper, with a '50s-style Afro-Cuban beat and interludes in which Takeishi plies his cymbals. Pintchik seems to favor diminished chords, and the major-minor seventh that closes the work suggests film noir-associated pieces like Washington's "Invitation." Pintchik's "Something Lost" is masterful, a work that sounds through-composed and influenced by impressionistic Bill Evans ballads such as "Time Past." Pintchik's "Mortal" is perhaps the most original and emotive work on the disc, lyrical and pensive, a little foreboding but peaceful. Takeishi starts with spooky cymbals and Japanese-sounding melodic drumming, and the drums continue to wash over and converse with Pintchik's melodic line. Gradually the pace picks up as Hardy's bass turns higher-pitched and more active. ~Virgina A. Schaefer

No comments:

Post a Comment