Gianni Basso Meets Renato Sellani Trio - I Wish I Knew (2003)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 55:32 | Size: 153.50 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. I Wish I Knew (Warren) 4:34
2. I'll Be Seeing You (Fain, Kahal) 5:56
3. Don't Blame Me (Fields, McHugh) 6:05
4. East of the Sun (Bowman) 5:54
5. The Man I Love (Gershwin, Gershwin) 8:31
6. Autumn in New York (Duke) 3:54
7. All of Me (Marks, Simons) 4:25
8. Lil' Darlin' (Hefti) 6:18
9. Good Morning Heartache (Higginbotham) 4:36
10. Body and Soul (Green, Heyman, Sour) 5:50
Label – Philology
Recorded Jan 17, 2003 at MU REC Studio Milano, Italy

Gianni Basso - tenor sax
Renato Sellani - piano
Massimo Moriconi - double bass
Massimo Manzi - drums
Gianni Basso and Renato Sellani are two seasoned veterans of the European jazz scene and this is hardly their first meeting, let alone their first recording together for the Philology label. Teamed with two in-demand Italian players, bassis Massimo Moriconi and drummer Massimo Manzi (who have also recorded regularly with the two older musicians, the quartet sticks mostly to a program of wistful ballads from the Great American Songbook, all tunes which they have likely played on numerous occasions. Basso's lush tenor sax is complemented flawlessly by Sellani's piano accompaniment in "I'll Be Seeing You." Sellani introduces "The Man I Love" by himself with a dreamy arrangement, which shifts into brisk swing with the full quartet joining him. Basso brings the late Ben Webster to mind as he captures the bittersweet essence of "Good Morning Heartache."
~ Ken Dryden

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar