Dave McMurray - I Know About Love (2011)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:05:57 | Size: 148.18 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. Time #4
2. I Luv You Like Jazz
3. First Night In Africa
4. Precious Memories
5. I'm Coming Up
6. Love Calls
7. Waba Doo Bop
8. One Night In Paris
9. I Know About Love
10. Radio Days
11. Inherit The Wind
12. Beautiful You
13. Naked
14. Break It Down
15. Ma's Song
16. I Luv You Like Jazz / Rollin
Whether as sideman for the likes of Bob James or contributor to albums such as Dylan’s ‘Under The Red Sky’ or the Rolling Stones ‘Voodoo Lounge’ fusion player Dave McMurray can always be relied upon to deliver the goods. This Detroit-based saxophonist made his solo debut in 1995 with ‘The Dave McMurray Show’ and since then has gone on to release four more CDs with the latest being the excellent ‘I Know About Love’. McMurray makes an early statement of intent with the opening track, ‘Time’ which, after a moody intro, evolves into a swaggering streetwise slice of edgy contemporary jazz. Predictably McMurray’s jazzy playing is outstanding and although he retains a similar groove for the aptly named ‘Waba Doo Bop’ much of what this fabulous collection is all about can be typified by two contrasting versions of the intensely foot tapping ‘I Love You Like Jazz’. The initial take has something of an hypnotic urban undertone which in the later rendition gives way to a ballsy rap by Paradime that is right on the money. When McMurray takes a melodic diversion for the smoky ‘First Night In Africa’, he is still able to inject an urgency that is added to in no small measure by Marcus Miller on bass while the fusion filled ‘I’m Coming Up’ is notable on many counts and not least for fantastic keys from the great George Duke. This jazzy funk fest is wonderful and in delightful contrast to the deliciously relaxed ‘Precious Memories’ which proves to be a first rate slice of mellifluous contemporary jazz. By and large ‘I Know All About Love’ revolves around McMurray’s own excellent compositions but along side thirteen of his own tunes are the sensational ‘Love Calls’ from R & B star KEM (who also features on vocals) and a fine cover of the Wilton Felder composition ‘Inherit The Wind’ which was a massive hit in 1979 for Bobby Womack. The Womack like vocals of Sweet Pea Ackinson (with whom McMurray first collaborated back as 1982) are tremendously faithful to the original while when McMurray gets back to his own songs the reflective title cut is anchored by the distinctly soulful vocals of Herschell Boone who also shares writing credits. McMurray switches to flute for the expansive ‘Naked’ where Al Turner on bass also contributes and as ‘I Know About Love’ glides to a tranquil end the outcome is the mellow yet jazz drenched ‘My Ma’s Song’. Elsewhere ‘Beautiful You’ is another top-notch example of easy grooving urban jazz whilst the mellifluous ‘One Night In Paris’ is embellished by the vocals of TIYI Adjovi and more superb flute from McMurray. This track is right up there with the album’s best and in the good company of both the hugely inviting ‘Radio Days’ (which finds McMurray re-uniting with old pal Bob James) and the wonderfully intense ‘Break It Down’ where vocalist Jessica Wager Cowan vies for the spotlight with more of McMurray’s great playing.‘I Know About Love’ is out now and comes highly

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar