23 May, 2018

Morris McCraven - Jazz In June (2016)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:25:28 | Size: 193.17 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. Chitlins' Con Carne
2. The Days Of Wine And Roses
3. Mister Magic
4. Meditation
5. Put It Where You Want
6. I Like To Live The Love
7. What You Won't Do For Love
8. I've Been Loving You Too Long
9. Undecided
10. Valdez In The Country
11. Chicago Song
12. Love And Happiness

“Jazz in June-LIVE” recorded live in Norman Oklahoma.

Lunacy Records

Morris McCraven – Saxophone; Dennis Borycki – Keyboard; Don Juntunen – Guitar; Steve Short – Drums; Dave Copenhaver – Bass; Harold Jones – Vocals.
Born in Memphis, Tennessee, Morris is a graduate of Langston University with Music Education and Elementary Education degrees. Morris moved to Oklahoma City in 1963. Over the years he has performed with Preacher Smith, Leon the Demon, The Freedom Riders, The Fantastics, The Soul Messengers, Leon Nelson 4 Hits and a Miss, Hart and Soul, and Bottom Line Transaction. He participated in the International Blues Contest in Memphis winning the competition with Smilin Vic and the Soul Monkeys Band and toured the Caribbean playing on the Blues Cruise. In 2001 he was again at the International Blues COntest with Shortt Dogg.

After many years of playing and recording with others as a sideman, 2009 marks his debut recording as a leader. Released on Lunacy Records, the CD is comprised of several standards and soul/jazz classics and is his definitive statement of 50 years of tenor saxophone playing.

No comments:

Post a Comment