Beady Belle - Dedication (2018)

Genre: Jazz, Soul | Total Time: 47:33 | Size: 109.60 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Mercy
02. Out of orbit
03. I run you ragged
04. Traces
05. Hold your breath
06. Dedication
07. Mooring line
08. Waste of grace
09. My religion
10. Last drop of blood
11. Can you smile?

Beady Belle — music, lyrics, production, lead vocals
Bjørn Sæther — drums, shaker and tambourine
Marius Reksjø — electric bass
David Wallumrød — Prophet 5, Minimoog, Juno 60, Arp, Fender Rhodes, Clavinet, Hammond organ, grand piano, electric guitar, auto harp, glockenspiel
Martin Windstad — percussion
Bjørn Charles Dreyer — electric sitar

With "Dedication", Beady Belle has drawn together all the threads of inspiration at the core of who she is and has woven a brand new tapestry that is vibrant, organic, energetic, cool, emotional, intimate, and unequivocally funky. Soul and R&B have always been close to Beady Belle's heart, and with "Dedication", she is fully immersed in these twin worlds. "I associate this music with the 70's," she says. "It's recorded live with old, original instruments. Raw and unpolished. With the groove as an unstoppable engine. It's a tribute to my great heroes - Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, Donny Hathaway and Aretha Franklin, while there are whispers of younger Soul artists like Alicia Keys, Raphael Saadiq, Lauryn Hill and Frank Ocean." The title, "Dedication", refers to the most important thing in life - at any given time - as you go through hell and high water to achieve it. It is the battle that requires full dedication to win. "Dedication" is in many ways a continuation of the previous album, "On my own" (2016). The organic live feeling there has been developed further here, but now with a clear step closer to Soul and with the driving rhythm and groove solidly placed centre-stage. Beady Belle writes - and has always written - pop music. She conjures catchy and intuitive melodies, while at the same time adds deliberate - and sometimes intricate themes and musical depth. But the dress of her music has varied and developed in accordance with the fluctuations that have affected her life along the way. Beady Belle's music has moved from a rather clubby Neo soul to Electronics Inspiration, through Nashville-inspired Country and Jazz. But her love for Soul and R & B has coloured all the songs. "Honesty is the key in all the words and music I've written. On all my records, I'm searching for a core that is close to my heart, but this changes as life goes and I change. What was me before may not be me anymore. Therefore, my music has always changed character from release to release - but always with a clear signature from my heart. There is always something open, revealing in it."

Label: Jazzland Recordings

Nema komentara:

Objavi komentar