24 April, 2018

Scott Warner - Mindfield (2012)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 51:07 | Size: 116.53 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Mindfield
02. Won't Someone Listen
03. After The Deluge
04. Sojourn
05. Love For Sale
06. In Memoriam
07. Lydia's Song
08. How 'bout Now
09. Evan's Essence
10. A Peaceful Life
This album was recorded in Detroit a few years back and features my friends

Jimmy Greene, tenor sax (Horace Silver, Harry Connick, Jr. Big Band)
Rodney Whittaker, bass (Wynton Marsalis and the Lincoln Center Big Band)
Gerald Cleaver, drums (Bob James, Roscoe Mitchell)

Rodney and Gerald lived within blocks of each other in Detroit, and grew up playing jazz together. Its a dream rhythm section.

I first played with Rodney when he was 16. We had to pick him up and drove him to the gig. As the long-time bassist for Wynton and the Lincoln Center Band he has become known for his fat swing groove. But he is an unsung lyrical player....listen to the bass solo on "Sojourn" to hear him sing.

No comments:

Post a Comment