24 April, 2018

Marie Bergman - Fruit (1996)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 54:14 | Size: 123.36 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. Down With Love
2. Wish Someone Would Care
3. Let Me Be The First To Know
4. Crazy He Calls Me
5. Comes Love
6. Trademark
7. Naima
8. Them Their Eyes
9. I Believe In You
10. It Amazes Me
11. End Of A Love Affair
12. Cry Me A River
13. Just One Of Those Things
14. On Your Toes
15. All The Way

Singer Marie Bergman may appear to be middle-aged in her photos, but she has a surprisingly youthful voice. Her versatility is quite impressive, and nearly all of the 15 songs she performs on this release from the Danish Stunt label are memorable. After starting off with a rapid and brief rendition of Harold Arlen's "Down With Love," she does a complete left turn, soulfully digging into Irma Thomas' R&B-ish "Wish Someone Would Care." She covers a great deal of territory throughout the continually intriguing set, including "Crazy He Calls Me," "Comes Love," John Coltrane's "Naima" (which has Jon Hendricks lyrics), "Them There Eyes," "Cry Me a River" and "Just One of Those Things." The arrangements are colorful; the European musicians (which include keyboardist Peter Nordahl and, on a few cuts apiece, trumpeter Ann Sofi Soderqvist and baritonist Gunnar Bergsten) are excellent; plus, organist Jimmy McGriff makes a guest appearance on "Let Me Be the First to Know." This release is well worth searching for. ~ Scott Yanow

No comments:

Post a Comment