22 April, 2018

Jerry Granelli - A Song I Thought I Heard Buddy Sing (1993)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 57:41 | Size: 130.99 MB | MP3 320 kbps
01. Wanderlust
02. Smoky Row
03. The Oyster Dance
04. Billie's Bounce
05. Coming Through Slaughter
06. In That Number
07. Prelude To Silence Shell Beach-Lincoln Park
08. I Put A Spell On You
09. Blues Connotation
10. Blues Connotation (Reprise)

Alto Saxophone – Kenny Garrett; Bass – Anthony Cox; Drums – Jerry Granelli; Electric Bass – J. Granelli; Guitar – Robben Ford; Guitar, Banjo – Bill Frisell; Soprano Saxophone – Denny Goodhew; Trombone – Julian Priester.
Recorded at London Bridge Studio, Seattle, January – February, 1992.

Drummer Jerry Granelli offers a wide-ranging amalgam of styles and sounds on this 1993 date. The life of legendary (but unrecorded) jazz trumpeter Buddy Bolden is aurally covered through a ten-track, four-part set that sequences songs according to movements; Bolden's world, journey, memories, and an epilogue are the settings, with an interesting lineup that includes torrid alto saxophonist Kenny Garrett, Bill Frisell playing banjo as well as guitar, trombonist Julian Priester, guitarist Robben Ford, and bassist Anthony Cox. It is not strictly traditional New Orleans jazz nor merely reflective or commemorative fare, but an aggressive musical commentary on the Bolden legend. ~ Ron Wynn

No comments:

Post a Comment