24 April, 2018

Hugh Masekela - '66 - '76 (2018)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 3:43:23 | Size: 500.23 MB | MP3 320 kbps

Disc 1
01. A Felicidade
02. Why Are You Blowing My Mind?
03. She Doesn't Write
04. Do Me So la So So
05. Ha Lese Le Di Khanna
06. What Is Wrong With Groovin'?
07. Child of the Earth
08. Son of Ice Bag
09. Coincidence (Live)
10. Grazing in the Grass
11. Bajabula Bonke (The Healing Song)
12. Vuca
13. There Are Seeds to Sow
14. Mace and Grenades
15. Boeremusiek
16. Gold
17. Blues for Huey
18. Gafsa
19. If There's Anybody out There

Disc 2
01. You Keep Me Hangin' On
02. Woza
03. Sala Le Mane
04. Mamani feat. The Union Of South Africa
05. Caution! feat. The Union Of South Africa
06. Hush (Somebody's Calling My Name) feat. The Union Of South Africa
07. Minawa
08. Languta
09. Kaa Ye Oya
10. Adade
11. Yei Baa Gbe Wolo
12. Patience
13. When
14. Nye Tamo Ame
15. Rekpete

Disc 3
01. Stimela (Coal Train)
02. Night in Tunisia
03. In the Market Place
04. Jungle Jim
05. African Secret Society
06. Nina
07. Been Such a Long Time Gone
08. Ashiko
09. Mama
10. The Boy's Doin' It
11. Song for Brazil
12. Colonial Man
13. Whitch Doctor

Hugh Masekela was one of the world’s finest and most distinctive horn players, a musical celebrity who built up a dedicated global following thanks to his unique blend of jazz, South African styles, and music from across the African continent and diaspora. The albums that Masekela recorded in this period, from 1966 to 1976, were impressively varied. He was already a fine horn player and powerful singer, and his songs ranged from exquisite to angry and experimental. It may seem extraordinary that these tracks have been allowed to disappear, but this remarkable set helps to put that right. Compiled by Hugh and his friend and producer Stewart Levine, it includes tracks from eleven albums, with two of the finest – Masekela Introducing Hedzoleh Soundz and I Am Not Afraid – re-released in full.

No comments:

Post a Comment