21 April, 2018

Geoff Keezer - Here And Now (1990)

Genre: Jazz | Total Time: 1:01:02 | Size: 138.62 MB | MP3 320 kbps
1. There But For The Grace Of...
2. Headed Off At The Pass
3. Leilanis Mirror
4. Agra
5. (It Was) Just One Of Those Things
6. Its The Thought That Counts
7. The Feeling Of Jazz
8. Turning Point
9. It Never Entered My Mind
10. Scandal In Shinjuku

Geoff Keezer piano; Steve Nelson vibraphone; Peter Washington bass; Billy Higgins drums; Donald Harrison alto saxophone.

Recorded At Clinton Recording Studio, NYC on October 3 & 4, 1990

Blue Note ‎– CDP 7 96691 2
Pianist Geoff Keezer, two months shy of his 21st birthday at the time of this session, sometimes recalls McCoy Tyner in his playing with touches of Herbie Hancock, although on a romping version of "Just One of Those Things," his interpretation is pure Bud Powell. Steve Nelson's vibes are most heavily influenced by Bobby Hutcherson and Milt Jackson, while the somewhat dry originals take quirky twists in the best tradition of Wayne Shorter. With bassist Peter Washington and drummer Billy Higgins completing the quartet (altoist Donald Harrison guests on three numbers), this is an excellent (if not innovative) modern mainstream set, a strong showcase for both Keezer and Nelson. - Scott Yanow

No comments:

Post a Comment